For those of you in the readership who need tips on how to write a resignation letter, here’s a sample I finished drafting earlier this afternoon:

July 2, 2007

Jason:

I am writing to inform you that I will be resigning my Site Operator VIII position as of July 20, 2007.

In early August, I will be graduating from Purdue; shortly thereafter, I will be moving to Blacksburg, Virginia to attend the MFA Program in Creative Writing at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

The opportunities for professional growth offered to me by Information Technology at Purdue have been greatly appreciated. I take away experiences from Purdue, both as a full-time employee and an undergraduate student, which will be useful in my future academic career. I hold ITaP and Purdue in very high regard and am proud to have contributed to the academic and research missions of the University.

Sincerely,

Josette